A divorce is the legal process of dissolving a marriage. Part of the dissolution process is the separation of all property and debts. This process also involves legal determinations about child custody and support.
What are the grounds for divorce in Utah?
- desertion for more than one year
- willful neglect to provide for common necessaries of life
- habitual drunkenness
- conviction of a felony
- cruel treatment with bodily injury
- irreconcilable differences
- incurable insanity
- Separation for three consecutive years
How much is it going to cost me to get a divorce in Utah?
There are several factors that come into play when assessing the cost of getting a divorce in Utah. You should expect to pay between $6,000 – $10,000 to get a divorce. Whatever the situation is, we offer outstanding service and the ability to pay over time. Please see our information about how much your divorce is going to cost.
What’s the process of getting a divorce in Utah?
Meeting with your attorney. There will be a lot of information that your lawyer will have to collect and discuss with you about your case.
Document preparation. Your attorney will have several documents, pleadings and filings to take to the court.
Service. Once your documents are prepared, they will have to be served upon your spouse.
Spouse files an answer. Your spouse will have time to prepare and file an answer to respond to your petition.
90 day waiting period. After the petition is filed, there must be at least 90 days before the court signs the final decree.
Training. If there are minor children, you must attend a mandatory divorce education class at the court. You must attend mandatory mediation if there are contested issues.
Other concerns. There are other issues that the court will have to decide that may be considered such as alimony, child custody and parent time, child support, debt and property division.
When can I speak with an attorney?
Please feel free to call Michael Steck today about getting a divorce at 801-505-9202 or contact us via email here.